Some Canon S90 Sample Shots

by Miserere

  

As some of you may have noticed, I bought a Canon S90 a couple of months ago and have been putting it through its paces during this time. While the reviews showed photos taken mostly for the purposes of testing the camera, the fact is I bought the S90 to take real photographs with.

Below I’m posting some “real” photos for your enjoyment (click for larger versions). If you would like to see more, you can check out my Canon S90 Gallery.

When I view these photos, varied in style as they are, I see a clear similarity between them: The only reason they exist is because I had the camera in my pocket. For only two of them did I also have my DSLR with me, but packed away in my backpack, whence it was unlikely to come out to take either of those two photos. So thanks to my new pocketcam, I have a handful of photos I wouldn’t otherwise have taken. No, the S90 isn’t perfect, but it’s proving to be extremely useful nonetheless, proving once again that, more often than not, the best camera is the one you have with you.

  

  

  

  

  

  

8 Responses to “Some Canon S90 Sample Shots”

  1. Thanks for this. I always prefer reviews when they are done by peers or independent bloggers. It offers greater peace of mind that there is no ulterior motive or hidden agendas.

    These images are wonderful. Especially the first. Technically these photos show that the S90 is a cool piece of gear but more importantly they show that you have a great way of seeing the world.

    • Thanks, Cedric, I’m glad you like my photos…and that you trust me πŸ˜‰ Although be careful who you trust; bloggers are human and subject to purchase bias and/or ownership rationalisation. Basically, because we’ve bought an item, we want to look at it with good eyes because we want to believe we made the best choice. We also need to justify spending money by proving that the item we bought is so good, it would have been silly not to buy it.

      I would like to believe I do not suffer from any of these maladies because a) I’ve been wanting this type of compact for over a year (so my decision was not rushed, but rather well thought out), b) I am not afraid to return an item if it does not perform up to my standards, and c) I don’t think this camera is perfect and I would probably have been just as happy with the Panasonic LX3.

  2. Can’t comment on the S90, sorry. But hell!!! I LOVE every one of these shots Mis!! Totally stunning perspectives, compositions, and opportunistic grasping of uniquely impactful moments of time.

    The light has been enticed!!!!

    Garry

  3. Mis, you have some wonderful images there. I even like the street shot with the two cats in it. After you review, I have decided to sell my G10 and get me an S90. Thank you. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

