Transform – A Video by Zack Arias

by Miserere

 

There comes a time when every artist, however small or big, questions him or herself. We wonder what purpose there is to what we create, we look around and cannot possibly concieve how we might stand out amongst such giants. And yet, we struggle on, because there is something inside of us that won’t let us stop. There is a hunger.

Every artist deals with insecurities. What makes each one different is how these feelings are dealt with, how they are conquered. If they ever are.

It’s a continuing struggle.

Please sit quietly and watch this video by music photographer Zack Arias—then you’ll understand what I’m talking about.



Read more about it on Zack’s blog.

6 Responses to “Transform – A Video by Zack Arias”

  1. Man guys, that was pretty much a downer! 8-( I think we all know that nothing in life (or photography) is guaranteed, but to have someone be so dark, dismal and depressing is a little over the top. I don’t need this attitude in my life!

    • Chip, I must disagree with you, I did not find this piece a downer at all—I found it inspiring. I think Zack was trying to paint a bleak, yet realistic, picture in order to convey his message of hope and make it that much stronger. You can come out of it, it is possible, and you’re not alone.

      Had I not found the imagery and the message so powerful, I would not have posted it.

  2. I agree with Miserere. Chip: fast forward to 7:37 and listen from there. Very good message. Reminded me in some ways of the article “The Myth of Talent” by Craig Tanner posted some two years ago on now defunct Radiant Vista site. I just Googled it and voila! — here it is, alive an well:

    http://www.craigtannercreative.com/lightdiary/?page_id=220

  3. For anyone who dreams of making this a career, it is a good watch, and does address some serious questions about how you deal with, as he puts it, defining yourself in a sea of visual pollution. There are the flickr rockstars, and those of us who post and only get single digit views before the image is swept away; conversely, you’ll find the commenting on others often garners attention, and it almost becomes an exercise in building relationships more than raw skill or finished images.

    Lately I’ve been able to relax about equipment, portfolios and imageviews, content in the fact that for every band I shoot at a live event and e-mail the images to, I may get a call later on offering a paid promo shoot, regardless if I’m shooting pixels or silver halide.

    I guess I shoot to document, to produce something interesting for myself or whoever to find years down the road. To remember what was going on, where I was, who I was with, what I saw. I want to capture not only the events, but the day to day.

    To contextualize life and create a narrative that might not be noticed from within my head.

  4. Not real cheery as already noted. Still, pretty powerful with some nice (by my unlearned eyes) video work to go with it.

Leave a Reply

