Taking Panoramas to a New Height

Or should I say width? Click on the photo to go to the photographer’s blog and enjoy a much larger version.

Harold Davis - Golden Gate Bridge PanoramaHarold Davis – Golden Gate Bridge Panorama

Renowned Bay Area photographer Harold Davies loves the Golden Gate Bridge. At least that’s what I’m assuming, seeing as the guy keeps going back to photograph it even after he published a book titled 100 Views of the Golden Gate. Apart from terrific 180° view, what I’m jealous of is that his Photoshop could handle the 10 photos he stitched together. My CS3 gets flustered as soon as I give it more than 4.

Although I’ve seen the Golden Gate Bridge a few times, I only had a camera with me on one occasion…and it was foggy (surprise!). Below is my humble rendition of this iconic landmark. Click for a slightly larger version.

Miserere Golden Gate Bridge San FranciscoPiercing the Clouds

In view of my post a few days ago, I’m wondering whether Harold Davies’s stitched panorama would be considered a “photograph” by most folk…

5 Responses to “Taking Panoramas to a New Height”

  1. 4 photos? Time for a newer computer!!!

    I have no problem with 10-15 full res tiffs (in 16 bit no doubt). $400 box I built myself 3 years ago! I am do for an upgrade though, perhaps this summer!

    Maybe you can feature me on here after I get the Nodal Ninja up and running…(and now your saying: him and his nodal ninja, just use the damn thing). here is the thing, after I calibrated all my lenses, they came out with the RC2 QR that conveniently works with my manfrotto QR plates. Meaning my QR plates are once again QR plates, rather than something I need to switch back and forth and keep track of. Problem is they didn’t center the plate so both the A and B settings had to be fixed. A setting was cake. Just measure the difference in plate height. B setting is more complex to measure, and looks like trial and error is going to be more exact/faster. Anyway, it’s been too cold to mess with panos for now!

    BTW, I like your shot, not sure why you think the photo would be better without the fog. Personally, I’d have been disappointed if it wasn’t foggy!

    • And there goes Justin and his Nodal Ninja again… πŸ˜€ Once you’ve dialled all your lenses in and have some nice Adirondack panos with Caney in the mix, I’ll certainly post a few here on EtL. You can even tell the World how you did it, if you wish. Heck, I should even throw you a party :-p

      As for computing power, I have a reasonably powerful Dell laptop, and the problem with large panos is it runs out of disk space if I’m stitching directly from RAW files. I’m trying to figure out how to tell Photoshop to use the external drive as a cache instead of the restricted (due to operating system partitions) laptop drive. I will buy a dedicated desktop for photography as soon as I get a new job and our finances can allow it.

  2. I have no qualms at all calling that “photography”. Panoramic stitching of this kind is using modern digital post-processing to keep the image as ‘real’ as possible as the photographer saw it, not to create something that wasn’t really there. I think HDR and other dynamic-range enhancing techniques like combining shots with different exposures are still photography. Same goes for combining shots for enhancing depth-of-field.

    And Mis, probably better with the fog than without.

  3. Thanks so much for the mention!

    Here’s my take on the digital image manipulation issue: When is a photo not a photo? and World without End.

  4. You are most welcome, Harold.

    I loved the nautilus staircase. Beautiful! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

