I’m a Photogrpher Not a Terrorist

by Miserere

  

This bold statement is the war cry of a movement started in the UK to educate the members of the public and law enforcement agencies about street Photography. In recent years there has been an increase in the number of photographers being harassed by police because they were taking photographs in public, and draconian measures have been taken in the UK to limit the rights of photographers. I’m a Photogrpher Not a Terrorist is trying to do something about it. Or at least make a lot noise.

If you are in or near London, UK, on Saturday, January 23rd, you might want to go to Trafalgar Sq. at 12:00 noon and let the British government know how you feel about their treatment of photographers. Check it out on Facebook too.

Addendum January 23rd, 2010

Thanks to Lawrence, who e-mailed me the BBC story: Photographers protest over UK terror search laws.

It seems like it was a successful demonstration in that the turnout was good, but nobody got hurt or arrested. The Guardian story reports 2,000 photographers protesting.

5 Responses to “I’m a Photogrpher Not a Terrorist”

  1. If only I lived near London…

  2. This is the most centralist controllong government in the western world, it’s using the blanket terrorist laws as a method to control us in any way it wants. It belives people are the servants of goverment and not government is the servant of the people.
    It is creating an atmosphere of guilt and fear in photographers and others and must be resisted by any legal ways possible and shewn that we will not be easily subjugated. So far we still have the balot box.
    Anyone that believes in liberty and freedom must use their vote in the general election to get rid of this Labour government.
    All that evil needs to suceed is for good men to do nothing.

  3. Over the past few years on trips to Europe I have found the general populance far more reluctant to have their images taken, although the UK has more street CCTV than any country in the world this doesn’t seem to bother them.
    Last November I was in both Paris and London and although I shoot as discretely as possible I had people shaking fingers at me. In Paris, one individual came up a flight of stairs and asked me to delete the image I had caught of him from overhead. On the other hand in London, I had some Police Constables stand to one side as I caught a shot of some office girls outside on a cigarette break ????
    There appears to be a growing Paranoia in regards to street photographers that wasn’t evident 10 years ago. I normally am not discernible from the locals but have been considering dressing up like a typical dump tourist, be blatant, and shoulder a couple of SLRs.
    My current stealth with my G10 (with a FlipBac angle viewer) is maybe more obvious and questionable in these changed times.

  4. The doopy tourist method is probably very valid. The speed in which I can use my camera is what freaked out the woman who got the cops set on me in the first place.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

